View courses by level

Click on a heading below to see a description or types of courses that fall within each level. Click on the link below the description to view all courses of that level from all subject categories.
Entry Level

Entry level options are for students who may need support to progress with their learning.
There are three stages at Entry Level so you can build your skills gradually; Entry level 1, Entry level 2 and Entry level 3

Level 1

NVQ Level 1
Certificates and Awards
Foundation NVQ
GCSEs (Grades D – G)

Level 2

BTEC Diploma Level 2
NVQ Level 2
GCSEs (Grades A* – C)
CACHE Certificate
Intermediate Apprenticeship

Level 3

A Level
BTEC Diploma Level 3
Subsidiary and Extended BTEC Diploma Level 3
CACHE Diploma Level 3
Advanced Apprenticeship
NVQ Level 3

Level 4+

Higher Apprenticeship
NVQ Level 4
Certificate of Higher Education
Higher National Certificate (HNC)
Higher National Diploma (HND)
Foundation Degrees
Bachelor Degrees – BA (Hons)
Graduate Certificates and Diplomas
Masters Degrees
Postgraduate Certificates and Diplomas

Application Form

You can apply online by using our simple online application form, or if you prefer to complete the application form on paper you can download the PDF version.

For help simply call or drop into The Advice Shop and one of our friendly advisers will be glad to offer all the help you need.

Call The Advice Shop on 01603 773 773
We are open from 8.30am-5.00pm Monday to Friday and until 7.00pm on Thursdays during term time

Guide to course levels

How different qualifications compare

You may hear people talking about qualification 'levels'. These levels are contained in three qualification 'frameworks':