Skip to content

PA required in Norwich to assist a young woman 12 hrs p/w @ £11.00p/h - Norwich - NR4

DPSS Service User

Norwich, NR4

Job Description

Job Purpose:
I am a 20-year-old woman with a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder, hypermobility spectrum disorders (Ehlers Danlos), dyslexia, severe anxiety, depression, Raynards and selective mutism. I am looking for a Personal Assistant who would enable me to continue to develop and strengthen my independent life skills and self-confidence to achieve my personal goals and aspirations. You would also provide me with support to manage my nutritional needs, personal hygiene, maintaining home environment, developing relationships, engaging in education, social activities and personal safety.

Location: Norwich, NR4

This job would be best suited for someone with a Mental Health Occupational Therapist qualification or a trainee in this field. Ideally, I would like someone of similar age as me because I do not like to stand out as having support. I am an avid climber both indoor and outdoor, I enjoy wild swimming, wild walks/ hiking and exercise classes. Therefore, I would like someone who is similarly sporty and could support me with those activities. I need to keep my physical fitness levels up to decrease my pain and joint issues, and to keep my mental health at the optimum level. There will be times due to pain that I am unable to leave the house so board games, cooking (strict vegan) and gaming would be what we could do on these occasions. I would need your support with this also.

Successful candidates will also need to foresee issues when out and about such as positioning themselves when areas are busy to "protect" me from being touched by other people and to pre-empt meltdowns as well as have the expertise to exit situations whilst not drawing any attention. You need to be confident but quietly, so no loud voices. You will need to be flexible as plans often change due to my medical needs. When I am not able to speak, you would need to work with how I will communicate with you, for you to be able to speak on my behalf. An element of signing (BSL) would be an advantage. In medical situations I may be able to speak at the beginning but then unable to do so after a short while. Therefore, you will be required to do pre-planning with me on my thoughts and needs prior to appointments to ensure I have a voice even when I am unable to speak.

Person specification:
- Flexible
- Active and sporty
- Discreet in support
- Able to advocate on my behalf
- Car owner with clean driving license and the relevant business insurance

- Mental Health Occupational Therapist qualification or a trainee
- Basic knowledge of BSL

Summary terms and conditions:
- The rate of pay for this position is £11.00 per hour.
- Hours and times of work: 12 hours per week arranged flexibly, timings advised in advance.
- The annual holiday entitlement for this position will be equivalent to the work I would normally expect to be done during 5.6 consecutive weeks.
- You will be reimbursed for any agreed expenses incurred as part of the role.

Post is subject to the following:
- A satisfactory enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS) check, the cost of which will be covered by the employer.
- Satisfactory references from two referees, one of which must be your current or last employer.
- Completion of a satisfactory probationary period of 3 months.
- This position requires the employee to complete free annual training: GDPR, Health and Safety, First Aid, Risk Assessment, Autism, Food Hygiene, Medication management.


£11 per hour


Part Time


12 hours per week

How to apply

Apply via the link: